Can Vegans eat Jewelry?

I am a Vegan. Would it break the conduct if I eat jewelry?

The Vegan conduct states that I can eat:

  • food rations, cram rations, K-rations, C-rations and lembas wafers
  • melons, oranges, carrots, pears, apples, bananas, kelp, eucalyptus, garlic, wolfsbane, and user-defined fruit
  • the corpse of any monster (or a tin of its ‘meat’) represented by b, j, or F.
  • tins of spinach

There is no mention of metal/wood. Additionally, the pages on eating jewelry, amulets, and rings don’t say anything about the Vegan conduct.

Answer

Vegans can indeed eat jewelry. From the guidebook:

A strict vegan diet is one which avoids any food derived from animals.
The primary source of nutrition is fruits and vegetables. The corpses
and tins of blobs (`b’), jellies (`j’), and fungi (`F’) are also
considered to be vegetable matter. Certain human food is prepared
without animal products; namely, lembas wafers, cram rations, food
rations (gunyoki), K-rations, and C-rations. Metal or another normally
indigestible material eaten while polymorphed into a creature that can
digest it is also considered vegan food. Note however that eating such
items still counts against foodless conduct.

Specifically:

Metal or another normally indigestible material eaten while polymorphed into a creature that can digest it is also considered vegan food.

So if you are a gelatinous cube, go ahead and slurp down those wooden rings. If you are a rust monster, rock mole, or xorn, crunch away at your metallic amulets and rings.

Attribution
Source : Link , Question Author : Justin , Answer Author : Justin

Leave a Comment