This is stupid. I don’t want to chat with other people. How can I disable auto-chat-join?
After significant investigation, the only option right now is to leave the channel when you log in, to do this type
Leaving the channel will persist in patch 1.03.
Please note that we will also be making a change with patch 1.0.3 so that if you leave General chat once, the game will remember this preference and you will not automatically join General chat again when logging in. While we don’t yet have a date to share for this patch, we anticipate that it will be released before the end of the month.